About Us

It is not enough to be compassionate.
You must act.

Dalai Lama


William J. Svrluga

Bill Svrluga is the founder and co-director of Before RacismTM.
Bill has spent much of his adult life working to build, strengthen, and maintain community-based
efforts that empower traditionally marginalized populations to succeed in the areas of personal well-being, education, life skills, job readiness, and housing. Racial equality and racial justice are at the heart of his work. He adheres to an enduring commitment to one core belief: there is just one real race in our world—the human race—and all people are truly created equal.

Bill Svrluga
Founder & Co-Director

Theo Jolosky, PhD

Theo Jolosky serves as co-director of Before Racism.
Theo is experienced in the fields of educational and psychological assessment (including early childhood), program evaluation, and market/customer research. He has worked with Bill Svrluga on several community-based programs including those focused on housing, employment, and personal development.

Theo Jolosky, PhD

Board of Advisors

Before Racism’s subject matter experts, scientists, practitioners, and community organization professionals provide both strategic direction and tactical support for the program, lending their significant experience to the development of the program.

Subject Matter Experts

Early Childhood Development, Education, and Mental Health

Beverly Bauman
Vice President of Staff Development and Education, New Horizon Academy

Lydia J. Carlis, PhD
Chief Program & People Officer, Acelero, Inc.

Dianne Haulcy
SVP for Family Engagement, Think Small; Host, Early Risers Podcast from Little Moments Count

Patricia A. Kay
Chair, Department of Education and Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education, Berkshire Community College

Steve Lepinski
Executive Director, Washburn Center For Children (Ret.)

Gillian Dowley McNamee, PhD
Professor; Director, Teacher Education Program; Director, Language and Literacy Partners; Erikson Institute

Kelly Phillips
Program Director at Monument Square and Magic Seasons, Early Childhood and School-Age Centers, Childcare Centers of the Berkshires, Inc.

Sheila Williams Ridge
Director, Shirley G. Moore Lab School, Institute of Child Development, College of Education and Human Development, University of Minnesota

Deby Ziesmer
Early Childhood Director/Pritzker Fellow, Minneapolis Youth Coordinating Board


Mary K. Boyd
Chief Executive Officer, MKB Associates; Area Superintendent, St. Paul Public Schools (Ret.); Director of Ramsey County Community Services (Ret.); Dean, Graduate School of Education, Hamline University (Ret.)

Marty Lange
President, K–12, Higher Education, Area9 Lyceum; Former Senior Vice President, Chief Products and Operating Officer, McGraw Hill

Pediatric Neuropsychology/Child Neurodevelopment

Elaine Fletcher-Janzen, EdD
Diplomate, The American Board of Pediatric Neuropsychology
INSPiRE Neuropsychology Clinic Community High School District 218, Oak Lawn, Illinois

Daniel C. Miller, PhD

Executive Director, Woodcock Institute for the Advancement of Neurocognitive Research and Applied Practice, Texas Woman’s University; President, KIDS, Inc./School Neuropsychology Institute 

Media Design and Production

Catherine Allan
Executive Producer, Twin Cities PBS (Ret.)

Kristin Pederson
Senior Director, Media-Based Learning and Engagement, Twin Cities PBS

Measurement and Evaluation

Michael Quinn Patton
Founder and CEO, Utilization-Focused Evaluation

Art Rolnick
Economist, University of Minnesota; Former Senior Fellow, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota; Former Director of Research, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Community-Based Organizational Leadership

Community Programs

Lynne Atlas-Ingebretson
Chief of Staff, World Savvy

Michael C. Bingham
Senior Vice President, Presbyterian Homes & Services; Former CEO of Twin Cities RISE!

Tim Marx
President Emeritus, Catholic Charities of St. Paul and Minneapolis

Gaye Adams Massey
Chief Executive Officer, YWCA St. Paul

Marcus Pope
President, Youthprise

Paul Williams
President and Chief Executive Officer, Project for Pride in Living

Otis Zanders
President and Chief Executive Officer, Ujamaa Place

Public Sector

Susan Haigh
President and Chief Executive Officer, Twin Cities Habitat for Humanity (Ret.); Former Ramsey County (MN) County Commissioner

Thomas Moss
Former Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Services; Chief Operating Officer, Public Strategies Group (Ret.)

Connie Nelson
Director of Re:DESIGN; Former Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Revenue; Partner Emeritus, The Public Strategies Group (Ret.)

Community Philanthropy

John Couchman
Vice President, Programs & Grants, St. Paul Foundation (Ret.)

Frank Forsberg
F. P. Forsberg Consulting LLC; Former Senior Vice President, Twin Cities United Way